RSS

New in Theaters – 2/8/13

07 Feb

Identity Thief

Unlimited funds have allowed Diana (McCarthy) to live it up on the outskirts of Miami, where the queen of retail buys whatever strikes her fancy. There’s only one glitch: The ID she’s using to finance these sprees reads “Sandy Bigelow Patterson”….and it belongs to an accounts rep (Bateman) who lives halfway across the U.S. With only one week to hunt down the con artist before his world implodes, the real Sandy Bigelow Patterson heads south to confront the woman with an all-access pass to his life. And as he attempts to bribe, coax and wrangle her the 2,000 miles to Denver, one easy target will discover just how tough it is to get your name back. — (C) Official Site


Scott’s Take

I have mixed feelings about this one.  I love Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy, but the storyline for Identity Thief looks like a one trick pony. I haven’t decided if I am willing to be surprised/disappointed at the price of a $12.00 movie ticket.  I’m on the friggin fence.

Steve’s Take

I agree with Scott and I love Bateman and McCarthy. I will go check Identity Thief out and I will be cautiously optimistic about it. I have a feeling I will be pleasantly surprised.

Side Effects

SIDE EFFECTS is a provocative thriller about Emily and Martin (Rooney Mara and Channing Tatum), a successful New York couple whose world unravels when a new drug prescribed by Emily’s psychiatrist (Jude Law) – intended to treat anxiety – has unexpected side effects. (c) Official FB

Scott’s Take

Side Effects is the film I will be seeing this weekend.  From what I hear, the trailers in no way prepare you for the twists and turns that Mr. Soderbergh has in store for us all.  Supposedly this is his last film, let’s hope this great director changes his mind.

Steve’s Take

I love a good thrilling, suspenseful movie. After a series of comedies done by Tatum, I’m really looking forward to seeing what he can do in this kind of flick. Count me in!

Next Week

That’s all for this week.  Next week is a big one folks.  Bruce Willis is back in A Good Day to Die Hard.  The teeny bopper flick Beautiful Creatures based on the best-selling novel hits theaters.  Nicholas Sparks is back with the syrupy Safe Haven and The Weinstein Brothers are going kiddie 3D on us with Escape to Planet Earth 3D.  Yippe Ki Yay Mother Russia!
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
