RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports

06 Feb

by Steve Farace

Ah, it’s that time of the week again! Hump Day! We’ve had a lot going on with the site lately and HOPEFULLY it should be done soon. We have our fingers crossed (although it is really hard to type with your fingers crossed). I’m ready! Let’s go!

The Super Bowl was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. Well, I guess it was after the black out. I mean, honestly who has a black out at the Super Bowl?? New Orleans! That’s who! Both the NFL and Super Dome officials released statements and in the end it is what it is. Just imagine if the 49ers came back and won. Fans of the Ravens would be calling for a redo! I think the announcers are really the ones that were screwed there. They had no idea what to say or do and they seemed to all be repeating themselves. The players were just lying around stretching. That won’t happen again next year. Book it. Bold prediction considering that a blackout at the Super Bowl NEVER happens.

What did you all think about the commercial? I thought that for the most part they were complete trash. Don’t even get me started on the Go Daddy commercial. That was absolutely repulsive. I don’t ever want to see it again. Let me know what you think!

What did you think about Beyonce?? I won’t say because my wife will read this article. Moving on…

It’s almost time for baseball! Pitchers and catchers are reporting soon and so are some of the players that will be playing in the World Baseball Classic. I can’t wait for baseball! My Mets are going nowhere, but baseball is my love. There are some big story lines this year. Can the Angels get it together and be as good on the field as they are on paper? How will Mike Trout and Bryce Harper play in year #2? Will the Marlins win more than 35 games? I’m joking on that last one (half-way).

If you didn’t get a chance to listen to our podcast yet, then DO IT NOW!

I got a chance to attend a screening for West of Memphis yesterday. It is about the West Memphis Three – check out my review!

Did you know that iTunes sells 21 MILLION songs a day? That is insane! Look what they are doing even when people download songs illegally! Gotta love Apple.

Todd Helton was arrested for DUI – doesn’t seem very Todd Helton-ish to me.

I just read this dandy of paragraph from The NY Times:

Baseball is also mindful that when Braun appealed his positive drug test, he was required to provide detailed information, including the names of doctors and others he consulted for medical reasons. If baseball’s investigators were to uncover evidence that Braun was treated by Bosch at some point and did not disclose it during his appeal, he could be suspended for lying.

Do you really think Braun is going to be suspended for lying if they find out he was treated by Bosch? Well I didn’t think so at first, but remember that there are executives in baseball that aren’t exactly happy about his suspension being overturned last season. We shall see!

I’ve got nothing left in the tank this week. Enjoy the rest of your week and have a fantastic weekend! Hopefully next week I will be writing on the new look site! Who the hell knows? Once again – we shall see!

Later!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
