RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports and Stuff – 1/16/13

16 Jan

by Steve Farace

Hey all – did ya miss me since last week? No? You don’t have to be so direct. Anyway, I am back again for another hump day potpourri. Here we go!

Why does everyone seem to open up to Oprah? What is it about her? The latest was Lance Armstrong. He apparently has come clean about being on performance enhancing drugs. What is it with these people? Do they not think they are going to get caught? I think it’s absurd. Not only are they cheaters, but they are thieves as well. They have stolen money by using a fake body and fake conditioning. Listen, to me cycling is not a sport – it is simply what people do for recreation – sorry to offend anyone, but this is my article. The man made a ton of money during his career and now we are finding out that he has done even worse. He has basically stomped on all of the people who knew about what he was doing. People tried to step in and he actually sued people because of the “outrageous allegations”. Are you kidding me?? Wow…just wow. I can’t wait to see all of the repercussions.


Benchgate! Ah, this is a funny one. Why in the world were Wade and Bosh benched for the 4th quarter of the Heats recent loss to the Jazz? Something else that doesn’t make sense to me. I think the worst part about this whole thing is what Wade said after the game about being just a player. He’s obviously not. He is obviously a vital piece of the Miami Heat championship puzzle. I’m not sure of Coach Spo has lost a part of Wade after that night, but certainly not all is right in South Beach right now. Not to worry, Heat fans, they are still hungry for another title and they still have Lebron, Wade, Bosh and company. So please do us all a favor and stop panicking and CALM DOWN!

The Knicks actually went as far as to record everything that Carmelo Anthony was saying during a recent game. Apparently, James Dolan wanted to know what Melo was saying and what was being said to him. I actually think that was a good idea. I haven’t always agreed with Dolan, but this idea was not so bad. I guess he was looking to send some examples of trash talking that goes too far to the commish. Melo said he is happy that his owner is looking out for him. Looks like all is well in London – that’s right…LONDON. Why are the Knicks in London to play the PISTONS?? I can see them playing the Heat or Lakers or Bulls to bring some attention to the NBA overseas…but the Pistons? Honestly…

Justin Timberlake is back on the music scene! Scott has a man-crush on him so I know he is just thrilled. Are you?

I recently read an article talking about the 5 most hated companies in America. On it was Citigroup, Facebook, T-Mobile, Dish Network, and J.C. Penny. I’ve never had Citibank, but their name is on the Mets stadium so they are all good in my book. Facebook – they are a pain in the ass with all of their changes so I can see that. T-Mobile – I had them for almost 8 years and in the end they were HORRIBLE. Dish Network – I had them about 13 years ago – don’t have any ill feelings towards them. J.C. Penny – I don’t shop there enough to care about how they are no longer offering sales and how everyday is a low price – I just don’t buy the whole “no sale” thing. I’d love to hear your thoughts on some of these companies.

I’ve got nothing else to talk about. Well, I do, but I think we will wait until the podcast tomorrow night. Cheap plug! See ya next week!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
