RSS

New Release Tuesday- 1/1/13

31 Dec

Looper

In the futuristic action thriller Looper, time travel will be invented – but it will be illegal and only available on the black market. When the mob wants to get rid of someone, they will send their target 30 years into the past, where a “looper” – a hired gun, like Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) – is waiting to mop up. Joe is getting rich and life is good… until the day the mob decides to “close the loop,” sending back Joe’s future self (Bruce Willis) for assassination. — (C) Sony

Scott’s Take

Looper is flat-out fantastic.  One of 2012’s best films.  If you love science fiction, Looper is a must own.

Steve’s Take

While I have yet to see Looper, it is the talk of the town. Probably more than just this town, but you catch my drift. When I first saw the trailer, I have to admit I said no, thank you. My position has changed and I look forward to seeing it later on this week.

Beasts of the Southern Wild

In a forgotten but defiant bayou community cut off from the rest of the world by a sprawling levee, a six-year-old girl exists on the brink of orphanhood. Buoyed by her childish optimism and extraordinary imagination, she believes that the natural world is in balance with the universe until a fierce storm changes her reality. Desperate to repair the structure of her world in order to save her ailing father and sinking home, this tiny hero must learn to survive unstoppable catastrophes.

Scott’s Take

I have been waiting for months to see Beasts of the Southern Wild.  I actually bought the movie this morning, so after the ball drops tonight, I’m heading south for a little inspiration.

Steve’s Take

I’m a sucker for a story told through the eyes of a child. Beats of the Southern Wild looks to me like a great story that is worth watching. Check it out!

Cosmopolis

New York City, not-too-distant-future: Eric Packer, a 28 year-old finance golden boy dreaming of living in a civilization ahead of this one, watches a dark shadow cast over the firmament of the Wall Street galaxy, of which he is the uncontested king. As he is chauffeured across midtown Manhattan to get a haircut at his father’s old barber, his anxious eyes are glued to the yuan’s exchange rate: it is mounting against all expectations, destroying Eric’s bet against it.

Scott’s Take

I don’t have an opinion on Robert Pattinson that would negatively impact whether I wanted to see a movie he appears in.  That being said, I watch ANYTHING David Cronenberg makes, so I’m all in on Cosmopolis.

Steve’s Take

I just can’t get past Robert Pattinson being Edward. Ugh. This one looks off the wall weird and you can certainly count me out on Cosmopolis. I just can’t do it. Oh, and I’m not sorry about it.

That’s all for this week.  Next week we have Dredd 3D,Frankenweenie 3D, Hit and Run and The House at the End of the Street.  Happy New year everyone.  Stay safe and don’t drink and drive.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
