RSS

Coaches Corner – 12/4/12

04 Dec

By Yankee Todd

My 2 minute warning

Here’s my take on the BCS-

Don’t hate the player, hate the game. Northern Illinois didn’t create the rules, they just played by them. While I don’t think they deserve to play in a BCS game, I will be rooting for them against Florida State.

Wisconsin has 5 loses and they are in the Rose Bowl. Texas A&M lost to Florida and LSU. They deserve a BCS game more than Wisconsin. Georgia was five yards away from playing for a national championship and a five loss Wisconsin is in a BCS and not Georgia? Where is that outrage?

Louisville doesn’t belong in the BCS. Syracuse beat them.

The ship has too many holes to patch right now. If the goal is to have the best teams playing against each other, then the system has failed. Again.

If I were in charge, I would shorten the season by a game, the time between the end of the season and bowl games. I would then design a playoff system while still keeping the bowl games for the schools that do not qualify for the playoffs.

How would I do this?

I am not an expert but if I had time to sit down with Chris from Columbus, Derrick Paul (no relation to Chris Paul), my friend Coach Dean Schott, legendary high school basketball coach Tim Woods and Chris Robinson, we could hammer out a plan that works for everyone!

Chris Robinson has proposed that the Super Bowl be moved to Saturday night to allow for a day of recovery on Sunday, instead of Monday!

Give him a few Banquets and see what he can come up with.

I heard an interview with #johnnyfootball and WFAN radio personality Mike Francesa last Friday. When asked why #johnnyfootball wears #2, he responded that growing up he was a fan of Derek Jeter.

Right there, the small town boy from Kerrville,Texas, won over the vote from Francesa for Heisman.
Here’s my point on why #johnnyfootball should win the Heisman. Last year, the Fighting Texas Aggies were 6-6. Ryan Tannehill was the starting QB for the Aggies and he was a first round draft pick. #johnnyfootball takes the team and guides them to a 10 win season and a win at Alabama. Take him off the team and they finish the year at 8-4 or 7-5. In the toughest conference, they won all their SEC road games.

While I think Notre Dame linebacker Te’o ultimately will win the Heisman, is he worth as many wins as #johnnyfootball? I don’t think so.

Not just because I am a fan of Syracuse football, but the Pinstripe Bowl should be one of the most entertaining games of the season. The high-scoring and hot Orange take on the explosive and dangerous Geno Smith and the West Virginia Mountaineers. I can see a 45-38 final score with whoever has the ball last winning.

I did buy tickets to see the Valero Alamo Bowl for my son and I for Christmas. The University of Texas Longhorns will basically play a home game against the Oregon State Beavers. While I am excited about attending the bowl game with my son, the year the Longhorns have had this year has been very disappointing. Austin, Texas is only an hour north of San Antonio. If the dome isn’t sold out then that will send a powerful message about the fan base and Mack Brown.

I love Tyson Chandler. His energy and excitement for the game is contagious. Who wouldn’t love a guy that is making almost 90 percent of his shots over the last 50 field goal attempts?

While Dwight Howard is probably the best center in the NBA, where does Chandler fall in the pecking order?

Second? Third?

Obviously, I would take Howard on my team but Tyson Chandler is the heart and soul of the Knicks. He plays the game the right way. He plays excellent defense, rebounds the basketball, and doesn’t require any plays called for him to be successful.

I didn’t think it was possible but Sheed got ejected in less than two minutes against the Suns. #ball don’t lie.

There is no truth to the rumor that Coach Pop has instructed his players to utilize the same method as Sheed to give them rest. Instead of sending them home, he is going to have Tim Duncan scream “Ball don’t lie.” And get ejected!!
Lost in all the controversy over Pop-Gate is the fact he sent himself home from a game last year. He took a personal day. He had his assistants coach and he went home.

We need to check the fine print on the 250K fine and see if Stern outlawed anything about Pop sending himself home to rest. If not, the next nationally televised game on TNT Pop will not be on the sideline.

The war continues.

Somehow, the worst quarterback on the field Sunday in the Jets vs Cardinals game was allowed to keep playing. Ryan Lindley is not an NFL quarterback.

In the South, there is a saying when you feel completely sorry for someone and have pity for them.

They say, “Bless his heart.”

What are the Cardinals doing? I know Kevin Kolb or Red Skelton are not going to win a Super Bowl but they both give the Cardinals an opportunity to compete.

I feel sorry for Larry Fitzgerald.

I hope Rex Ryan goes with Greg McElroy. Mark Sanchez is not ever going to be successful in New York.

“Bless his heart!”

I’m not a TV executive but any show that stars Michael K. Williams as either Omar Little or Chalky White is must see TV.

Follow me on twitter @yankeetodd1 or @toddbloomer

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Coaches Corner – 12/4/12

  1. Dpd22

    December 5, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Nice to have the blog up and running. Keep up the good work!!

     

Comment away!

 
