RSS

New in Theaters – 11/16/12 – 11/23/12

16 Nov

The Twilight Saga:Breaking Dawn Part 2 – 11/16/12

The astonishing conclusion to the series, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2, illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take

Thank the movie gods. After what seems like a lifetime of watching trailers and going to screenings I was unenthused for…it all comes to an end.  It was nice knowing you Robert Pattinson. Kristen Stewart, maybe one day you will get out of that emo/goth stage.  No more Team Edward garbage. We are all free!!

Steve’s Take

I completely agree with Scott on this. Finally! Do you all think that they are going to break up after this is over? I personally think that they got back together for the sake of the movie. We shall see – but we really should have a celebration!

Silver Linings Playbook – 11/16/12

Life doesn’t always go according to plan. Pat Solatano (Bradley Cooper) has lost everything — his house, his job, and his wife. He now finds himself living back with his mother (Jacki Weaver) and father (Robert DeNiro) after spending eight months is a state institution on a plea bargain. Pat is determined to rebuild his life, remain positive and reunite with his wife, despite the challenging circumstances of their separation. All Pat’s parents want is for him to get back on his feet-and to share their family’s obsession with the Philadelphia Eagles football team. When Pat meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence), a mysterious girl with problems of her own, things get complicated. Tiffany offers to help Pat reconnect with his wife, but only if he’ll do something very important for her in return. As their deal plays out, an unexpected bond begins to form between them, and silver linings appear in both of their lives. — (C) Weinstein

Scott’s Take

Silver Linings Playbook is the other movie that will have me at attention. It is a sure-fire best picture nominee and some critics say it the best movie they have seen all year. Did you hear that Argo?

Steve’s Take

I have heard nothing but great things about Silver Linings Playbook. The reason why I might not get to see any other movies is because of this one. I’m all in.

Red Dawn – 11/21/12

In Red Dawn, a city in Washington state awakens to the surreal sight of foreign paratroopers dropping from the sky – shockingly, the U.S. has been invaded and their hometown is the initial target. Quickly and without warning, the citizens find themselves prisoners and their town under enemy occupation. Determined to fight back, a group of young patriots seek refuge in the surrounding woods, training and reorganizing themselves into a guerrilla group of fighters. Taking inspiration from their high school mascot, they call themselves the Wolverines, banding together to protect one another, liberate their town from its captors, and take back their freedom. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take

I am a huge fan of the original Red Dawn.  I have come to the conclusion that if I were 38 when that film was released, I wouldn’t have liked it.  I just turned 38 last week and I highly doubt I’m going to like the new version of Red Dawn.

Steve’s Take

I think that the concept is an interesting one in the time that we are living. I will watch it when it comes to Netflix. Let us know what you think if you do see it.

Rise of the Guardians – 11/21/12

Rise of the Guardians is an epic adventure that tells the story of a group of heroes – each with extraordinary abilities. When an evil spirit known as Pitch lays down the gauntlet to take over the world, the immortal Guardians must join forces for the first time to protect the hopes, beliefs and imagination of children all over the world. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take

I like the concept of Rise of the Guardians, I’m just not sure I like the trailer.  Do you ever judge a movie by its trailer? I do that a lot.  It has come back to bite me in the ass a few times but my instinct tells me this one is a “no go” for launch.

Steve’s Take

I just don’t see it. Worth a shot, but I’m thinking you will be disappointed.

Life of Pi – 11/21/12

Director Ang Lee creates a groundbreaking movie event about a young man who survives a disaster at sea and is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure and discovery. While cast away, he forms an amazing and unexpected connection with another survivor…a fearsome Bengal tiger. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take

There are 2 movies I absolutely will not wait to see this Thanksgiving. Life of Pi is one of them. It looks absolutely breathtaking.  People are comparing its visuals to Avatar. Sign me up.

Steve’s Take

I’m all in on this one, but for some reason I think it will end up being like other movies that I have wanted to see, but just do not get around to it. I’ll give it my best shot and you should too.

Hitchcock – 11/23/12

Hitchcock is a love story about one of the most influential filmmakers of the last century, Alfred Hitchcock and his wife and partner Alma Reville. The film takes place during the making of Hitchcock’s seminal movie Psycho.

Scott’s Take

I love watching interviews with Sir Alfred Hitchcock.He has a bland,wry sense of humor that I think will play well in this film. I’m also interested to see the in’s and outs of what went on behind the scenes while filming Pyscho.

Steve’s Take

This will be another one that I will check out once it is on Netflix. Not that I don’t want to see it, but it is one that for me can wait.

Next Time

There you have it. A wide selection of movies coming out between this Friday and Thanksgiving. Silver Linings Playbook is in limited release. Next time we have Killing Them Softly with Brad Pitt and The Collection. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
