RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports – 10/31/12

31 Oct

by Steve Farace

Let me first apologize to all 6 of my loyal Hump Day readers. I completely lost track of the days last week because of the cruise I took. By the time I realized it was already Thursday and it just didn’t feel right to me. I will make it up to you. I promise.

Well the World Series sure went by quickly, eh? I picked the Tigers to win in 5 and boy did they slap me across the face. No hitting, some pitching and some defense. The Giants owned them in every way imaginable. Well I guess that is a captain obvious statement because the Tigers were swept. Pitching, my friends, wins baseball games. No matter how ineffective he was all season, The Freak was pitching out of the pen for most of the playoffs. When you have someone the caliber of Tim Lincecum in your bullpen, you are in a pretty good shape. Congrats to the SF Giants. Hopefully we will be celebrating another championship for another team named the Giants in a few months!

Hockey = White. Hot. Garbage. Just because I missed a week doesn’t mean I changed my mind!


The NBA is back! The Heat got their rings last night and played like champions. Lebron James picked off where he left off and his teammates were able to hold on to the lead and escape with a victory as he stayed in the locker room getting treated for leg cramps. Ah, those leg cramps will get ya early in the season! Congrats to the Heat..now, let’s move on!

A’mare Stoudemire will be out for between 6 and 8 weeks for the Knicks. What a surprise! I predicted that the Knicks would win the Atlantic Division, but I’ve sinced soured on that prediction. We really have to just wait and see if Melo can make the necessary adjustments to take his game to the next level. If not, then the Knicks will flounder in the 6 thru 8 spots. If he does, then they could flourish. I’m tired of the Nets will be better than the Knicks argument. Let’s see if the Nets even mesh with each other. As we have learned from the Heat, Knicks and now the Lakers – things take time and some things don’t even happen. Calm down. Knicks home opener is Friday night against the Champs. We shall see.

Let’s talk a bit about the Jets. Nevermind…they aren’t important enough.

How bad have Tony Romo and Philip Rivers been? Rhetorical – they have both been bad!

Before I finish up with this weeks article, I’d like to send well wishes to everyone that has been impacted by Hurricane/Superstorm Sandy. The area is a disaster and those people will need a lot of support for a long time to get everything back to normal. I mean, you know things are bad when you have a shark swimming in your front yard. In all seriousness, though, I hope to see everyone get back to normal as soon as possible – seeing Manhattan in complete darkness was so strange!

That’s about all for this week! Hope your hump day is going well and that you’re on your way to an enjoyable weekend! If I missed something or if you’d like to battle it out on something you didn’t agree with feel free to leave a comment!

Talk to you guys next hump day and I hope everyone had a fun and safe Halloween!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
