RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports – 10/10/12

11 Oct

by Steve Farace

I found out today while speaking to Scott that there are now pumpkin pop tarts. I’m not sure what is going on in this country, but there is a pumpkin craze taking over. I mean we already have the pumpkin spice coffee at Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks, but now we have Hershey’s Kisses and pop tarts flavored with pumpkin? It’s all out of control! I’m not big into the whole pumpkin takeover…ah well.


Pete Rose has emerged from the darkness with some choice words for Derek Jeter in his pursuit of the all-time hits record. He says it simply won’t happen. I think he has a point. I just don’t see how Jeter can keep this pace up at such a grueling position in such a grueling city in a situation that is surely to be grueling. Okay, fine that was enough of that. My point is that I just don’t see it happening and neither should you. That doesn’t mean that Pete Rose should have come out and said it. Will Pete Rose continue to own the all-time hits record? You bet your life! See what I did there?

Hockey = White. Hot. Garbage.

I’m getting to this article really late on hump day and the Yankees actually just won their game with a home run from 200 year-old Raul Ibanez in the 12th after a home run by 199 year old Raul Ibanez in the 9th to tie it. Scott guaranteed the Yankees would be eliminated by the time our next podcast aired on Monday – I hope he is right.

Where is Josh Hamilton going? My money is on Texas, although a couple of interesting teams were being thrown around today and those were the Brewers and the Mariners. We can pretty much eliminate any team in a big market because of all of the distractions it could cause someone like Hamilton. Time will tell, but the Rangers have come out and said that they will let the man test the market first.

The Heat are in China to take on the Clippers in exhibition action. Is there a better road show than the Heat? That game is on NBA TV tomorrow morning at 7:30am. Do the teams have to play their stars a little more than they normally would in a preseason game because of where they are? I wouldn’t. You don’t need Lebron James or Blake Griffin tearing their ACL in a preseason game, let alone a preseason game in China!

In what could be the game of the week in the NFL, the Giants head to San Fran to take on the 49ers in a rematch of the NFC Championship game from last year. I thought the Giants were the better team then and I think the Giants are the better team now. I know it is in San Francisco, but so was the championship game and their quarterback is Alex Smith. Now that I’ve said that he will go off for 450 yards.

That’s about all for this week! Hope your hump day is going well and that you’re on your way to an enjoyable weekend! If I missed something or if you’d like to battle it out on something you didn’t agree with feel free to leave a comment!

Talk to you guys next hump day!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
