RSS

New in Theaters – 9/28/12

27 Sep

Looper

In the futuristic action thriller Looper, time travel will be invented – but it will be illegal and only available on the black market. When the mob wants to get rid of someone, they will send their target 30 years into the past, where a “looper” – a hired gun, like Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) – is waiting to mop up. Joe is getting rich and life is good… until the day the mob decides to “close the loop,” sending back Joe’s future self (Bruce Willis) for assassination. — (C) Sony

Scott’s Take

I have been looking forward to Looper for months now. Is there anything better than a time traveling science fiction film?  Brick director Rian Johnson is earning himself some early rave reviews for this one. Looper is the movie to see this week.

Steve’s Take

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but there is something about this movie that makes me want to save my money. I know that I’m going against the grain here, but let’s see if I’m proven wrong.

Hotel Transylvania

Welcome to the Hotel Transylvania, Dracula’s (Adam Sandler) lavish five-stake resort, where monsters and their families can live it up, free to be the monsters they are without humans to bother them. On one special weekend, Dracula has invited some of the world’s most famous monsters–Frankenstein and his bride, the Mummy, the Invisible Man, a family of werewolves, and more–to celebrate his daughter Mavis’s 118th birthday. For Drac, catering to all of these legendary monsters is no problem–but his world could come crashing down when one ordinary guy stumbles on the hotel and takes a shine to Mavis. — (C) Sony

Scott’s Take

Color me mildly interested in Hotel Transylvania. My problem stems from the use of Adam Sandler as Dracula’s voice. I have been trying to stay away from anything Sandler puts his hands on. Hotel Transylvania will test my resolve.

Steve’s Take

Scott and I have not spoken about this movie yet, but I feel the exact same way. Adam Sandler is just someone who I have been staying away from lately. Oh, and Kevin James also? No, thanks.

Won’t Back Down

Maggie Gyllenhaal and Viola Davis play two determined mothers, one a teacher, who will stop at nothing to transform their children’s failing inner city school. Facing a powerful and entrenched bureaucracy, they risk everything to make a difference in the education and future of their children. This powerful story of parenthood, friendship and courage mirrors events that are making headlines daily. — (C) 20th Century Fox

Scott’s Take

Can somebody say Lifetime movie of the week? Don’t get me wrong, I like a well told feel good story, but I’m not sure I want to drag myself to the theater to see Won’t Back Down. I think I’m going to wait a couple of weeks on this one.

Steve’s Take

I will see this one when it comes out on DVD – looks like a nice little story, but again it is not something I’m going to the theaters to see.

Pitch Perfect

Beca (Anna Kendrick) is that girl who’d rather listen to what’s coming out of her headphones than what’s coming out of you. Arriving at her new college, she finds herself not right for any clique but somehow is muscled into one that she never would have picked on her own: alongside mean girls, sweet girls and weird girls whose only thing in common is how good they sound when they sing together, in the new out-loud comedy Pitch Perfect. When Beca takes this acoustic singing group out of their world of traditional arrangements and perfect harmonies into all-new mash-ups, they fight to climb their way to the top of the cutthroat world of college a cappella. This could wind up either the coolest thing they’ll ever do or the most insane, and it will probably be a little of both. — (C) Universal

Scott’s Take

Some friends of mine saw Pitch Perfect last week and were quick to advise me on how surprisingly good it is.  Take that with a grain of salt, maybe 2 grains of salt.  That same group of friends also advised me on another “funny” movie called Paul Blart: Mall Cop.  Should I stay or should I go? I will let you decide!

Steve’s Take

I can’t deal with this…I’m done.

Next Week

That’s all for this week. Next week, Liam Neeson has a special set of skills he will put to good use in Taken 2, Frankenweenie by Tim Burton, V/H/S just in time for Halloween and a movie about a butter sculpting contest aptly titled Butter. Have a great weekend!!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “New in Theaters – 9/28/12

  1. Rafael

    October 2, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Hey Steve you are way off. Looper is without a doubt the best sci-fi movie this year. You need to pony up your money and check this out. You will not be disappointed. The trailer only tells you but so much. Day one buy for me once the Blu-ray comes out!

     
    • CineSportsTalk

      October 2, 2012 at 1:20 am

      Ah a good ole fashion reader challenge. I will give it a shot. If I’m wrong I will admit to it, but I’m right far too often.

      Steve

       

Comment away!

 
