RSS

New in Theaters – 9/21/12

20 Sep

Dredd 3D

The future America is an irradiated waste land. On its East Coast, running from Boston to Washington DC, lies Mega City One- a vast, violent metropolis where criminals rule the chaotic streets. The only force of order lies with the urban cops called “Judges” who possess the combined powers of judge, jury and instant executioner. Known and feared throughout the city, Dredd (Karl Urban) is the ultimate Judge, challenged with ridding the city of its latest scourge – a dangerous drug epidemic that has users of “Slo-Mo” experiencing reality at a fraction of its normal speed. — (C) Lionsgate

Scott’s Take

After 45 reviews, Dredd 3D currently sits at an impressive 84% positive on Rotten Tomatoes. When I initially saw the Dredd trailer, I was instantly reminded of the 90’s Sylvester Stallone fiasco. It’s going to be hard to wash that memory away, but I will find a way to judge this Dredd on it’s own merits.

Steve’s Take

When I first saw this trailer I thought it might be something I would be willing to go see. Now that I see what the reviews are looking like, I am even more convinced that I want to see this one. The question is with who? My wife will have none of this.

House at the End of the Street

Seeking a fresh start, newly divorced Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) and her daughter Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret. Years earlier, in the house next door, a daughter killed her parents in their beds, and disappeared – leaving only a brother, Ryan (Max Thieriot), as the sole survivor. Against Sarah’s wishes, Elissa begins a relationship with the reclusive Ryan – and the closer they get, the deeper they’re all pulled into a mystery more dangerous than they ever imagined. — (C) Relativity

Scott’s Take

For me, House at the End of the Street has a been there, done that feel to it. I watch the trailer and it just doesn’t do anything for me. I hope I’m wrong.

Steve’s Take

These are the kinds of movies that you are going to have to deal with this time of the year. I guess there is no hard in going for a few scares. Let me know how it was!

End of the Watch

End of Watch stars Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Peña as young Los Angeles police officers Taylor and Zavala as they patrol the city’s meanest streets of south central Los Angeles. Giving the story a gripping, first-person immediacy, the action unfolds through footage from the handheld HD cameras of the police officers, gang members, surveillance cameras, and citizens caught in the line of fire to create a riveting portrait of the city’s most dangerous corners, the cops who risk their lives there every day, and the price they and their families are forced to pay. — (C) Open Road

Scott’s Take

If you are like me and you go to the movies a lot, there is always that one traler that you just so happen to see in front of every freaking movie you see. This year, I have seen the trailer for End of Watch at least 7 times in the theater. I groan every single time. It’s not that the movie looks bad. On the contrary, it looks pretty exciting. I just don’t want to talk about it anymore. Because I love you all, I will attach the trailer.

Steve’s Take

This one looks like Training Day without the crazed Denzel. Count me in on this one.

Trouble with the Curve

Gus Lobel (Clint Eastwood) has been one of the best scouts in baseball for decades, but, despite his efforts to hide it, age is starting to catch up with him. Nevertheless, Gus-who can tell a pitch just by the crack of the bat-refuses to be benched for what may be the final innings of his career. He may not have a choice. The front office of the Atlanta Braves is starting to question his judgment, especially with the country’s hottest batting phenom on deck for the draft. The one person who might be able to help is also the one person Gus would never ask: his daughter, Mickey (Amy Adams), an associate at a high-powered Atlanta law firm whose drive and ambition has put her on the fast track to becoming partner. Against her better judgment, and over Gus’s objections, Mickey joins him on his latest scouting trip to North Carolina, jeopardizing her own career to save his. — (C) Warner Bros.

Scott’s Take

Trouble with the Curve is supposedly Clint Eastwood’s last movie. I sure hope not. Clint is a bad ass. He’s the one actor/director that I will watch ANYTHING he does. Trouble with the Curve is no different. Clint Eastwood=Legend!

Steve’s Take

A rule of thumb with me is that if it is a movie about sports I’m in. I just wonder if Clint spends most of his time in the movie speaking to an empty seat in the stadium.

Next Week

That’s all for this week we have the fantastic looking time travel drama Looper, Hotel Transylvania and Won’t Back Down. Have a great weekend!!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
