RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports – 9/19/12

19 Sep

by Steve Farace

I’ve been watching the new NBC Sports Network all night. That’s right – don’t judge me. Actually it isn’t that bad. First I watched Rocky and now they are showing an overview of last week in the NFL. Not bad at all. Norv Turner is currently telling his Chargers offense that the 89 yard drive was a “helluva job”. Anywho…

What a performance by my Giants last week, eh? The funny thing is that I received text messages from a couple of friends of mine who have Eli Manning as their fantasy quarterback. Of course, as a Giants fan I have become the punching bag when Giant players aren’t doing well for their fantasy owners. Needless to say that at the half I was taking a beating about how awful Eli was and how they should have started someone else. By the end of the game I was getting texts apologizing for their previous remarks. Typical knee-jerk reactions. Eli is the man. The end.

Hockey = White. Hot. Garbage.

I was bounced from the Fantasy Baseball playoffs last week. I had a good year and finished at 12-9. Scott is still in there as he received the first round bye. He is battling his brother Mikey as I type this and is winning 124-117. Still a lot of baseball to be played – I will let you know how it ended in next weeks article.

While the Rays have fallen off, the Yankees seem to have righted their ship. The Orioles have continue to stay in the hunt and are right there with the Yankees in the division race. The problem is that in the race for the wild card spot there is an even bigger log jam. The Yankees/Orioles/Athletics/Rangers/Angels are all within 4 games of each other – of course I mean for those that do not win their division and will have to rely on grabbing those wild card spots. For me, it would be great to see the Yankees miss the playoffs. Sorry. Let’s Go Mets. Yeah Iknow.


Let’s move over to the National League. It looks like the divisions are pretty much over. The wild card is another story. While the Braves look pretty comfy in the first wild card spot, that all new second wild card spot looks wide open. The Cardinals currently lead, but the Dodgers and Brewers (yes, the Brewers) are just 2 games behind them. The Phillies (yes, the Phillies) are only 3.5 games out and the Pirates and Diamondbacks are right behind them.

At the beginning of the year I had the Red Sox, Tigers, Angels, Rangers and Yankees going to the playoffs. Not bad besides my disaster of a pick in the Red Sox. In the NL I had the Phillies, Reds, Diamondbacks, Braves and Brewers. Well, who else saw the Nationals running the NL East this year! That’s what I thought!

That’s about all for this week! Hope your hump day is going well and that you’re on your way to an enjoyable weekend! If I missed something or if you’d like to battle it out on something you didn’t agree with feel free to leave a comment!

Talk to you guys next hump day!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
