RSS

Hump Day Thoughts on Sports – 8/15/12

15 Aug

by Steve Farace

Let me first apologize for not having a Hump Day article last week! I was nearing my death-bed with a bout of Strep Throat…but you can all rest easy now – I’m doing much better!

Have you ever watched Locked Up Abroad on National Geographic? If you haven’t, you are missing something special. This could be one of the more addicting shows on television right now. Basically, it is about people from countries like the United States and England getting into major trouble and doing time in countries like Venezuela and Egypt. It is crazy what happens to people in jail in those countries. There many holy “bleep” moments during the show – check it out! It’s on Monday nights…throw it on your DVR so you can skip the commercials! On to some Hump Day Thoughts on Sports!

The US mens basketball team are gold medal winners! I mean, what did you expect? The have the best player in the world in Lebron James and a pretty decent supporting cast of Carmelo Anthony, Kobe Bryant, Kevin Durante and company. There was no doubt in my mind that this team was winning the gold. Pau Gasol had a great Olympics, but there was no way he would have enough fire power to beat this team. Ah well…now he goes back to the States with a silver medal and to play with Kobe, Nash and Dwight. Poor guy…

Chad Johnson…how stupid can you be? Not only did you abuse our wife, but you were released from the Dolphins and it was done in TV! WoW! For those of you that watched Hard Knocks last night, you saw what seemed to be a very humbled Chad Johnson. It’s too bad – the Dolphins could have used his 15 catches this year. Let’s see if there is a team crazy enough to sign this weirdo again.

You have to love the NFL Preseason! Outrageous ticket prices to see star players play for a series or two and then go to the bench. Then you get to watch the 4th, 5th and 6th string players in a bore-fest the rest of the way. The other bad part of the preseason are the injuries! Michael Vick now has a hand issue. Ryan Matthews now has a broken clavicle. Jason Witten has an issue with his spleen! That has to irk you as a fan of the team and it REALLY has to irk you if you have these guys on your fantasy team. I have Ryan Matthews. If you’re laughing – bleep you!

I tweeted this out yesterday and I really believe it is the right thing to do. Just give Mike Trout a single, 2 stolen bases and a run scored to begin every game. It is easier to do then watch it happen and it is almost a given. The man is a beast and could very well win the AL MVP winner.

Congrats to King Felix on his perfect game! Here is another fantasy plug for me – this was my second perfect game of the season. I also have Matt Cain. I also had Johan Santana at the time of his no-hitter, but I didn’t start him that week. It’s getting down to crunch time, so it was nice to see!


I shouldn’t be mentioning this so late in the article, but they say you should save the best for last! Congrats to the US Womens soccer team on their gold medal win over Japan. There is some nice redemption for the World Cup loss. It is their 3rd straight gold medal at the Olympics. Well done! I was watching the game while dozing off while I had strep throat and I pumped my fist when time ran out as much as I could. When I got better I was really happy for them. USA! USA! USA!

That’s about all for this week! Hope your hump day is going well and that you’re on your way to an enjoyable weekend! If I missed something or if you’d like to battle it out on something you didn’t agree with feel free to leave a comment!

Talk to you guys next hump day!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
