RSS

New Release Tuesday – 7/17/12

16 Jul

Lockout

Starring Guy Pearce and Maggie Grace and set in the near future, Lockout follows a falsely convicted ex-government agent (Pearce), whose one chance at obtaining freedom lies in the dangerous mission of rescuing the President’s daughter (Grace) from rioting convicts at an outer space maximum-security prison. Lockout was directed by Stephen St. Leger and James Mather from their script co-written with Luc Besson, who is also a producer. Peter Stormare co-stars. — (C) Open Road

Scott’s Take

I missed this one at the theaters. I don’t know why but I’m looking forward to watching Guy Pearce kick some ass. But don’t be fooled, Lockout is pure B movie garnish that you probably don’t want to blind buy.

Steve’s Take

I missed this one in the theaters as well. Partially because I just wasn’t sure if I wanted to see it. I will, however, watch it as a rental. Maybe.

The Three Stooges

Left on a nun’s doorstep, Larry, Curly and Moe grow up finger-poking, nyuk-nyuking and woo-woo-wooing their way to uncharted levels of knuckleheaded misadventure. Out to save their childhood home, only The Three Stooges could become embroiled in an oddball murder plot…while also stumbling into starring in a phenomenally successful TV reality show. — (C) 20th Century Fox

Scott’s Take

I hate The Three Stooges.  I find NOTHING about them even remotely funny.  Call me old-fashioned but watching one grown man poking his fingers in another grown man’s eyes bores me to tears.  I have probably offended a bunch of you, slapstick just isn’t my cup of tea.  I don’t know why I use the phrase “not my cup of tea.” I hate tea also.

Steve’s Take

I agree with Scotty here. I have never liked the Stooges. They have rarely every brought a smile to my face and just because this one was in color didn’t make a difference.  Stay away.

Get the Gringo

Mel Gibson finds new life in a Mexican jail after getting caught at the border with $4 million dollars of Mobster money in this production from former first assistant director turned helmer, Adrian Grunberg. ~ Jeremy Wheeler, Rovi

Scott’s Take – 3 1/2 Stars

If you are like me and missed Mel Gibson kicking all kinds of ass, Get the Gringo is going to grab you by the balls.  Wait until you lay your eyes on the Mexican prison. I won’t spoil the fun, but go out and Get the Gringo.

Steve’s Take – 3 1/2 Stars

I’ve missed the old Mel as well. I mean, the new one is a bit of a crazy person and crazy people get a lot of attention, but so should this movie. You will enjoy the action and even laugh a little. Go for it.

Friends with Kids

Friends with Kids is a daring and poignant ensemble comedy about a close-knit circle of friends at that moment in life when children arrive and everything changes. The last two singles in the group observe the effect that kids have had on their friends’ relationships and wonder if there’s a better way. They decide to have a kid together – and date other people. There are big laughs and unexpected emotional truths as this unconventional ‘experiment’ leads everyone in the group to question the nature of friendship, family and, finally, true love. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take – 3 Stars

As fate would have it, I just watched Friends with Kids with my wife last night.  The movie felt like it was about 30 minutes too long, but there are some very funny scenes. My first thought was Don Draper’s wife decided to round-up the whole cast of Bridesmaids, but the jokes don’t come from Kristen Wiig or Maya Rudolph.  It’s Adam Scott and Don Draper’s wife who anchor the bulk of Friends with Kids.  Here’s the skinny- Ladies will love it, Guys you can tolerate it.

Steve’s Take

I actually just asked Scott about this movie last night. I have yet to see it, but Scott recommends it so I will make sure to watch it this week. I also showed the trailer to my wife and there is no way that she will let me get away with watching it with her now.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

When Britain’s leading fisheries expert (Ewan McGregor) is approached by a consultant (Emily Blunt) to help realize a sheikh’s (Amr Waked) vision of bringing the sport of fly-fishing to the desert, he immediately thinks the project is both absurd and unachievable. But when the Prime Minister’s overzealous press secretary (Kristin Scott Thomas) latches on to it as a “good will” story, this unlikely team will put it all on the line and embark on an upstream journey of faith and fish to prove the impossible, possible. — (C) CBS Films

Scott’s Take

The sequel to the blockbuster hit Tilapia Tasering in Tasmania finally makes its way to Blu-Ray. If you read that first sentence and thought there could possibly be any truth to it, this website isn’t for you.  I’m kidding.  Seriously, what a strange movie title.  I will say I’m intrigued to see how they actually pull this one-off.

Steve’s Take

lol.

Next Week

That’s all we have this week. Next week we have the horror film SIlent House.  Starting in August we are going to change the format a bit and I’m going to list every movie that is being released weekly. Old or new. Why have to go to 30 different websites to get movie release information.   Have a great week!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
