RSS

New in Theaters – 6/29/12

28 Jun

Ted

director and voice star of Ted. In the live action/CG-animated comedy, he tells the story of John Bennett (Mark Wahlberg), a grown man who must deal with the cherished teddy bear who came to life as the result of a childhood wish…and has refused to leave his side ever since. — (C) Universal

Scott’s Take  – 3 1/2 Stars

Ted could be the funniest movie I have ever seen.  I will warn you that this film is not for everyone.  It is rude, crude and dirty. If you can handle jokes about race, sex, rampant drug use and are a fan of Family Guy, chances are you will love Ted.

Steve’s Take

When I first saw the trailer for Ted it hit me immediately as being just another stupid Hollywood idea. Then I saw the redband trailer and it all changed for me. Nothing like a crude little teddy bear to get ya going! I’m ready to see this one this weekend. Scotty has already seen it and you MUST check out our boy Brian’s review below!

Brian’s Take

Check out my review here!

Magic Mike

Set in the world of male strippers, Magic Mike is directed by Steven Soderbergh and stars Channing Tatum in a story inspired by his real life. The film follows Mike (Tatum) as he takes a young dancer called The Kid (Pettyfer) under his wing and schools him in the fine arts of partying, picking up women, and making easy money. — (C) Warner Bros

Scott’s Take

Leave it to Steven Soderbergh to direct a movie about the dark side of male stripping.  Early word is that Magic Mike is a lot like Boogie Nights.  I have to admit that a movie about the underbelly (no pun intended) of male strip clubs just doesn’t tickle my pickle. My wife absolutely adores Channing Tatum, so chances are I will be heading to the movies this weekend with a stack of one dollar bills.

Steve’s Take

My wife has already made plans to see this one with the girls on Monday. I’m out.

Madea’s Witness Protection

For years, George Needleman (Levy), the gentle CFO of a Wall Street investment bank, has been living with his head in the clouds. But George is finally forced to wake up when he learns that his firm, Lockwise Industries, has been operating a mob-backed Ponzi scheme – and that he’s been set up as the fall guy. Facing criminal charges and death threats from the mob, George and his entire family are put under witness protection in the safest place that Brian (Perry), a federal prosecutor from Atlanta, can think of… His Aunt Madea’s house down South. — (C) Lionsgate

Scott’s Take

Raise your hand if you have had your fill of Tyler Perry and old miss Madea.  I can’t help but think of Big Momma’s House every time a Madea movie hits the big screen.  Tyler Perry has found a cash cow with this franchise.  These Madea movies are made for next to nothing and usually cash in big during opening weekend.  I will see Witness Protection, but I will wait for DVD.

Steve’s Take

I’m so sick and tired of these. I was done after the first one.

Next Week

That’s all for this week.  Next week your favorite web slinger is back with another reboot in The Amazing Spider-Man, your favorite pop princess gives you a look in to her tragic (yawn) life in Katy Perry: Part of me ( Note: This is not a sex tape.) and Oliver Stone is back in the drug world in Savages.  Have a great weekend!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comment away!

 
