RSS

New in Theaters – 6/15/12

14 Jun

Rock of Ages

Rock of Ages tells the story of small town girl Sherrie and city boy Drew, who meet on the Sunset Strip while pursuing their Hollywood dreams. Their rock ‘n’ roll romance is told through the heart-pounding hits of Def Leppard, Joan Jett, Journey, Foreigner, Bon Jovi, Night Ranger, REO Speedwagon, Pat Benatar, Twisted Sister, Poison, Whitesnake and more. — (C) Warner Bros

Scott’s Take

I am not a huge fan of musicals. I enjoyed Chicago and hated Burlesque. I grew up in the 80’s listening to Bon Jovi, Def leppard, Journey and Whitesnake. I wore Edwin jeans and had the hair brush in my pack pocket. If there is one movie musical that I can get behind it is definitely Rock of Ages. Add in the talent of Tom Cruise, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Russel Brand and I’m thinking this one can’t fail. Our trusty reviewer Steve has already seen Rock of Ages and his review will give you more of an inkling of what you can expect.

Steve’s Take

Check out my review here!
That’s My Boy

While still in his teens, Donny (Adam Sandler) fathered a son, Todd (Andy Samberg), and raised him as a single parent up until Todd’s 18th birthday. Now, after not seeing each other for years, Todd’s world comes crashing down on the eve of his wedding when an uninvited Donny suddenly shows up. Trying desperately to reconnect with his son, Donny is now forced to deal with the repercussions of his bad parenting skills. — (C) Sony

Scott’s Take

My hatred pointed directly at Adam Sandler is growing stronger with each passing movie he releases. It’s not that I don’t like him. I feel like the talent is there and absolutely loved Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore, and The Wedding Singer. I feel that he needs to take a break and get back to what made him funny in the first place. That’s my Boy looks horrendous, but should I be surprised? It’s been over a decade since Sandler made a movie that was remotely funny or at the very least serviceable. I’m skipping this one and I’ll let you all go and get your root canal this weekend.

Steve’s Take

I’m right by Scotty’s side on this one. Sandler needs to go to an island and gather his thoughts and find his way again. Pass.

Next Week

That’s all for this week. Next week we have two more blockbusters with Abraham Lincoln: Vampire hunter and Disney’s Brave. Have a great weekend!

 

Tags: ,

One response to “New in Theaters – 6/15/12

  1. Sharine

    June 14, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Both those movies look funny as hell, its about time they come out with something good. I like at the end of the “Rock of Ages” trailer he signs her boobs that’s great!!!

     

Comment away!

 
