RSS

New in Theaters – 6/8/12

07 Jun

Prometheus

Ridley Scott, director of Alien and Blade Runner, returns to the genre he helped define. With Prometheus, he creates a groundbreaking mythology, in which a team of explorers discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a thrilling journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There, they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race. — (C) Official Site

Scott’s Take

Is this an Alien prequel? It all depends on who you believe. I really don’t care. Prometheus is one of the few movies I am on pins and needles for this summer. Advanced reviews have viewers on the fence. Either they love it or could have easily done without. It’s time to temper my enthusiasm and hope for a good but not great entry in to the Sci-Fi genre.

Steve’s Take

I’m not into the Sci-Fi scene, but I really like what I have seen so far from Prometheus. Not sure that my wife is going to want to see this one so I will have to take along with Scotty! Should be fun!

Madagascar 3

Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Gloria the Hippo, and Melman the Giraffe are still fighting to get home to their beloved Big Apple and of course, King Julien, Maurice and the Penguins are all along for the comedic adventure. Their journey takes them through Europe where they find the perfect cover: a traveling circus, which they reinvent – Madagascar style. — (C) Dreamworks

Scott’s Take

I have to admit the Madagascar franchise lost me after the first installment. I enjoyed the first two films but I just didn’t feel like they were movies that one had to rush out to go see. Madagascar 3 feels like more of the same. I am sure I will see at at some point and it’s a safe bet I will enjoy it, but Pixar it is not.

Steve’s Take

My son just turned 9 months old and I’m not quite ready to bring him to the movies, but you can bet that this one will be purchased once it comes out on blu.

Next Week

That’s all for this week. Next week Thomas Cruise wears leather pants in Rock of Ages and Adam Sandler uses his Little Nicky voice in That’s My Boy. Why do I hate Adam Sandler so much? Oh yeah, it’s because his movies suck. Have a great weekend everyone.

 

Tags: , ,

Comment away!

 
