RSS

Coaches Corner – 4/4/12

04 Apr

By Yankee Todd

For those of you that are asking, yes I am wearing cologne now. What kind of cologne does a wanna-be successful sports blogger chose?

Sex Panther?

No, I choose to wear the cologne of the all-time greatest basketball player, Michael Jordan’s. That’s right, what you smell ladies, is championships and winning. Seems everything MJ touches turns to gold – well, except the Charlotte Bobcats.

The Ryan Leaf situation continues to spiral out of control; worse than the Hinderbergh.

To me, Ryan Leaf’s career was defined with the classic meltdown between a sports reporter and himself. Leaf, in 1998, completed 1-15 for four yards and committed five turnovers in a 23-7 loss. After the game, Leaf allegedly swore at a cameraman. The following day, a reporter confronted Leaf on it. Leaf responded with “Don’t talk to me, alright?” and “Knock it off.”

Junior Seau, in his lowest moment as a professional, had to get involved with Leaf and the terrible soap opera.
Now, all joking aside, I feel sorry for Ryan Leaf. He has a drug problem that he needs help for. If this issue is not addressed, Leaf will eventually kill himself or others.

Some of you know, I am an assistant principal at a large high school in San Antonio. More and more kids are getting busted for having prescription pills that they don’t have a prescription for.

Kids today are combining pills, all kinds of pills, and experimenting for quick highs and cheap thrills.

Marijuana and alcohol are the two drugs that we are constantly talking to our students and own children about, but the abuse of pills is something that is a dangerous epidemic.

Kids today see nothing wrong with taking ADHD medications the night before a big exam so they can study.
Kids today see nothing wrong with self-medicating themselves. A few pills here and a joint? What’s wrong with that, sir? They ask. Its not like . . . . you fill in the blank here.

Leaf deserves time in prison. Maybe this is how he is able to seek help. Lord knows he was not going to get the help he needed on his own.

Maybe this will help shed a light on the growing problem and abuse of prescription drugs.

Jeremy Lin had surgery on his knee and it all but ends his 2012 season. Lin said all the right things. He tried to play through the pain and he is a fast healer. But Lin will not return this year unless the Knicks make some serious noise in the post season.

Surprisingly, my mother had the same surgery as Jeremy Lin. I turned to her to get some insight on the recovery process.

My mom said, “I would start physical therapy as soon as possible. He can expect to be tired. I think six weeks is really pushing it. He should have someone make him some chicken soup and he should get a good night’s rest.”
Hopefully, JLin7 will read my blog and take the advice from my Mom, who is healing quite well but has not resumed playing basketball yet.

Did you know that Carmelo Anthony has never led a team out of the first round of the playoffs? Will he do it in 2012?
Mike Woodson has given this team to Carmelo and its Melo’s job to put the team on his back and lead them into the playoffs.

We are back to the health of Baron Davis. Can his bad back hold up for 25 or 30 minutes a game? I think it’s highly unlikely that he will hold up over the long haul.

Who backs up Davis?

I think Mike Bibby gets the nod but I have as much confidence in him as I do in my son Andrew running the point for the Knicks.

Iman Shumpert has proven me wrong this year but he is not the answer at the point. His defensive ability and lately his scoring have warranted him minutes.
Toney Douglas, probably not.

Some have said maybe Melo could handle the point. The only concern with that is the increase in point productivity with Melo has been because he has started games in the block.

Have we seen an end to Amare Stoudemire as we know it? I sure as heck hope not. His last two weeks were the reason why he was offered the 100 million dollar contract.

As a fan, I want him back as soon as possible. As his agent, I would push that he shut it down for the rest of the year.
Did anyone read about the attempted blackmail of former Yankee Carl Pavano?

A former high school classmate tried to shake down one of the worst Yankee free agent acquisitions ever, with allegations that they had a three year long homosexual relationship in high school.

The classmate wanted a Range Rover with tan seats in order to be quiet.
Pavano does have one of the worst mustaches in the history of mankind. Well, I seem to remember a mustache that Big Game Philip James grew while in college that might rival the Pavano Stache.

Let’s not forget that Pavano dated Alyssa Milano.

Did you know that Alyssa Milano has been linked to Pavano, Barry Zito, Russell Martin, and Brad Penny.
Who knows what is true or false in this case. The sad point is that if this is made up Pavano now has to deal with it.
I decided that I would ask Alyssa Milano @Alyssa Milano and she did not respond to my question about Carl Pavano.

Speaking of baseball, last off season I was hoping the Yankees were not going to try to acquire former Colorado Rockies starting pitcher Ubaldo Jimenez.

Now with the suspension of Jiminez for throwing at Rockies All Star Troy Tulowitki, maybe I should have reconsidered last year.

My brother, my Dad and I always complained that the Yankees stars, Jeter and ARod, seemed to get hit more than most players.

We always wanted someone to return the favor to the opposing teams superstars. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to see anyone hurt. But messages need to be sent.

Jimenez was suspended for five days. Let’s hope these two teams play in interleague.

Does anyone outside of Japan actually think opening day was between Oakland and Seattle?

Opening day isn’t until Friday when the Yanks and Tampa open up.
I sat down with former college baseball player Aaron Semper and got his take on the up-coming baseball season.

In the National League –

NL East – Phillies – With the aces the Phillies will win the division once again. Their staff will patch up the fact that Ryan Howard will miss most of the first half of the year. Pitching as solid as they have, I look for them to win in the long haul of the 162 game stretch.

NL West – San Francisco Giants. Offensively, they will bounce back with Buster Posey in the line-up. I watched them deflate last year in his absence. I am not expecting Arizona to have the year they did last year . Again, pitching
depth will win the division for the Giants.

NL Central – Milwaukee Brewers. I am going to stay with them despite the departure of Prince. I think Aramis Ramirez will have a big year and Ryan Braun will have a lot he wants to prove. Barring the Nyjer Morgan doesn’t tear the team apart; I look for good things from the Brewers who gained experience in last years run. Zack Greinke is in a contract year which usually ends up well for the current team. I look for Jose Veras to be a good bridge in the gap between the starters and closers.

Wildcard. Atlanta Braves. I am going with the Braves and do not think they will have the September like they did last year. I see their young arms being huge for them. Personally, I would like to see Chipper Jones back in the playoffs. He is one of my favorite players, I always wonder what if he could have stayed healthy? With Jason Heyward working to correct some bad habits, I see solid numbers from the big guy. Jair Jurjens will be a beast for them.

Wildcard. Florida Marlins. Excellent talent level across the board.

American League

AL East – I love the pitching additions and who would have thought that the Yankees would have too much pitching? I look for Tex and Swish to have bounce back years. Also, add a healthy A-Rod to the mix and things could be really scary for opposing pitchers. I can’t move on without mentioning Roby Cano. I’m waiting for him to win the MVP and/or a batting title.

AL West – Los Angeles Angels. Pujols brings confidence and life back to a group that has been looking up at the Rangers the last few seasons. I don’t look for CJ Wilson to have huge numbers but he will be a solid addition. I feel Mike Scioscia and his hard-nosed approach will propel them to win the division.

AL Central- Detroit Tigers. Justin Verlander is the first name that comes to mind when I think of the Tigers. Losing V Mart was going to be a huge loss for them but the addition of Prince Fielder, I don’t see them losing a beat offensively. Defensively however, I do see some issues with Cabrera over at third.

Wildcard – Texas Rangers. They have been to the World Series back to back years and they simply find ways to win. I love what Nolan Ryan has done with the organization. What can Yu Darvish bring?

Wildcard – Boston Red Sox. If they can stay healthy, they will be scary. They will not win not because of Bobby V.

His World Series pick is the Yankees over the Giants in 6!

We will continue to go to the former college baseball player for insight during the baseball season.

Derrick Paul (no relation to Chris Paul) was a former middle school baseball player, gave me his picks for the season also.

Derrick Paul and I played on the same middle school team. I hit a home run in a game that he still maintains was a foul ball. Derrick Paul was playing center field in one game and a ball was hit like a rocket off an opposing players bat. Derrick Paul didn’t see it and it struck him in the upper thigh.

We all thought he would lose his leg he was in so much pain.

Not to be out done, Derrick Paul worked a walk in one game. He led off first with a Ricky Henderson sized lead and tried to see the third base coach for the sign. What he didn’t see was the pitcher throw over to first and pick him off.

When Derrick Paul decided to hang up his spikes and not play baseball, the coach asked him, “What are you going to do, bowl all your life?”

Here’s who DP likes –

American League –

West – Angels
Central – Tigers
East – Red Sox
Wildcard – Texas

National league –
West – Dodgers
Central – Reds
East – Phillies
Wildcard – Diamondbacks

(When we spoke, the playoff format was the same as it was last year. DP recently traveled to Cancun, Mexico and we were not able to communicate with him.)

He sees the Tigers and Diamondbacks in the Series, and Arizona winning it all in honor of his late friend George.

A miserable Mets fan, Derrick Paul added this –

“As you probably noticed, I have left out the Yankees. This was not by accident. I think they are going to have injury riddled year and just really suck. The Mets on the other hand are going to have a 90 win season and just come a little short of making the playoffs. This season will be full of surprises. “

I will be in Colorado with my wife for a few days.

Follow me on twitter
@yankeetodd1

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Coaches Corner – 4/4/12

  1. Aaron

    April 4, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Remember Yankee Todd, Sex Panther works 60% of the time every time!

     
  2. dad and mom

    April 4, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    I think this was great!!! Hope Lin takes my advice. Love, Mom

     
    • CineSportsTalk

      April 5, 2012 at 12:31 am

      Your son is a great writer! Glad to have him on board! Steve.

       
  3. Dpd22

    April 5, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Well done!!!!

     

Comment away!

 
