RSS

New in Theaters – 9/16/11

15 Sep

Drive

Ryan Gosling stars as a Los Angeles wheelman for hire, stunt driving for movie productions by day and steering getaway vehicles for armed heists by night. Though a loner by nature, Driver can’t help falling in love with his beautiful neighbor Irene (Carey Mulligan), a vulnerable young mother dragged into a dangerous underworld by the return of her ex-convict husband Standard (Oscar Isaac). After a heist intended to pay off Standard’s protection money spins unpredictably out of control, Driver finds himself driving defense for the girl he loves, tailgated by a syndicate of deadly serious criminals. But when he realizes that the gangsters are after more than the bag of cash in his trunk-that they’re coming straight for Irene and her son-Driver is forced to shift gears and go on offense. — (C) FilmDistrict

Scott’s Take

I can’t wait to see Drive.  I love the roles that Ryan Gosling chooses.  He is completely unconventional and no one can guess which way he is going to lead.  From Half Nelson to Blue Valentine, Gosling is fantastic.  Drive looks like it has the potential to rival Michael Mann’s Heat.  Yes, I know that sounds crazy, but let’s wait and see.

Steve’s Take

I have the opposite feeling about Gosling. I haven’t been really happy with his movies – especially as of late. The movie looks like a good one, but I hope that Gosling doesn’t ruin it for me.

I Don’t Know How She Does It

Kate Reddy (Parker) devotes her days to her job with a Boston-based financial management firm. At night she goes home to her adoring, recently downsized architect husband Richard (Kinnear) and their two young children. It’s a non-stop balancing act, the same one that Kate’s acerbic best friend and fellow working mother Allison (Christina Hendricks) performs on a daily basis, and that Kate’s super-brainy, child-phobic young junior associate Momo (Olivia Munn) fully intends to avoid. When Kate gets handed a major new account that will require frequent trips to New York, Richard also wins the new job he’s been hoping for-and both will be spreading themselves even thinner. Complicating matters is Kate’s charming new business associate Jack Abelhammer (Brosnan), who begins to prove an unexpected source of temptation. — (C) Weinstein

Scott’s Take

I know how she does it.  She gets the women of the world to religiously follow her into a small, dark theater, only to torture every male in her path.  I am praying I’m not forced to see SJP in another snoozefest. I hope my wife isn’t reading this…..

Steve’s Take

I feel so bad for the guys out there that will be forced to see this awful movie. I know that it won’t happen to me. Scotty I’m sure we can come up with some kind of excuse for you to get out of it if she brings it up. Let’s brainstorm on it.

Straw Dogs

David and Amy Sumner (James Marsden and Kate Bosworth), a Hollywood screenwriter and his actress wife, return to her small hometown in the deep South to prepare the family home for sale after her father’s death. Once there, tensions build in their marriage and old conflicts re-emerge with the locals, including Amy’s ex-boyfriend Charlie (Alexander Skarsgard), leading to a violent confrontation. — (C) Sony Pictures

Scott’s Take

This Sam Peckinpah remake has a lot of potential.  The question I have to ask my one faithful reader is…are we ready for another versin of The Strangers? I think Straw Dogs will be a surprise hit, if Sarah Jessica Parker doesn’t have her way.

Steve’s Take

This is the one that I want to see this weekend. I don’t have much faith in the other two and I am going all in on Straw Dogs. Please feel free to join me.

In Closing

That’s all we have this week. Definitely some different movies to choose from.  Next week we have Abduction, Moneyball and Killer Elite. Have a great week people!

 

Comment away!

 
