RSS

Luol Deng leads Great Britain to an impressive win

23 Aug

By Carlos Nazario

Chicago fans hope Deng’s games overseas aren’t the only ones they see this year.

In the London 2012 basketball event, the hosts struggled in losses to France, Serbia, and Croatia. Things looked bleak when they had to face the #10 ranked team in the world, China. That was, however, until a certain forward from the Chicago Bulls stepped in.

Luol Deng missed those three games while he attended his basketball camp in Loughborough. In his first action since the end of the NBA season, Deng scored 15 points in a big 64-56 win. It was impressive since the Chinese team is ranked 46 spots ahead of the British team.

Deng told BBC Sport, “It’s my first game since the end of the NBA season. I’m trying to get back in rhythm. I’ve been committed to this program [GB Basketball] since day one. My kids really wanted me at the camp and I really care about making basketball better in this country.”

“I enjoyed my time with them. My teammates understand, my coaches understand.”

Deng was an inspiration to his British teammates in the game. Let’s hope he has a chance to inspire his teammates in Chicago this upcoming season.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2011 in Basketball, Carlos Nazario, Sports

 

Comment away!

 
