RSS

New in Theaters – 8/12/11

11 Aug

The Help

The Help stars Emma Stone as Skeeter, Viola Davis as Aibileen and Octavia Spencer as Minny-three very different, extraordinary women in Mississippi during the 1960s, who build an unlikely friendship around a secret writing project that breaks societal rules and puts them all at risk. From their improbable alliance a remarkable sisterhood emerges, instilling all of them with the courage to transcend the lines that define them, and the realization that sometimes those lines are made to be crossed-even if it means bringing everyone in town face-to-face with the changing times. — (C) DreamWorks

Scott’s Take

Emma Stone. Emma Stone. Emma Stone. If you are a guy this Emma Stone is the one saving grace for being drugged,tied up, and forced at gunpoint to see The Help. It’s not even that I find her that attractive, it’s that she just dominates the screen with every role she takes. If I’m a producer, she is my #1 choice for ANY leading female role.

Steve’s Take

The more we do these previews the more I see that Scott and I aren’t so different. I agree that it is not that Emma Stone is that attractive, but it is more that she is everywhere – and she is funny! When I first saw this trailer during the previews I said no and my wife said yes. So you know what that means. I’m hoping that she just decides to check out the Glee movie with one of her friends. Wish me luck.

Final Destination 5

In Final Destination 5, Death is just as omnipresent as ever, and is unleashed after one man’s premonition saves a group of coworkers from a terrifying suspension bridge collapse. But this group of unsuspecting souls was never supposed to survive, and, in a terrifying race against time, the ill-fated group frantically tries to discover a way to escape Death’s sinister agenda. — (C) Warner Bros

Scott’s Take

I think they should take the word “Final” out of the title. Much like the Saw franchise, these films are pumped out to lure the teen audience to make a profit on opening week. After that, it’s nose dive central. I implore people to stop seeing these films. If you don’t go see it, they won’t make it! The only thing I can promise you is that this won’t be the Final..Destination.

Steve’s Take

I actually blurted out the words “are you kidding me??” when I first saw the trailer. I think it is absolutely ridiculous that there is yet another one in this series. I’m tired of them. They bring out these horrible movies and people go to see them and then they think they can bring out another one. Kind of like when President Bush had that horrendous approval rating in 2004 but was re-elected anyway. Ugh, but I digress. I beg you all not to see this movie. PLEASE!!

30 Minutes or Less

In the action-comedy 30 Minutes or Less, Nick (Jesse Eisenberg) is a small town pizza delivery guy whose mundane life collides with the big plans of two wanna-be criminal masterminds (Danny McBride and Nick Swardson). The volatile duo kidnaps Nick and forces him to rob a bank. With mere hours to pull off the impossible task, Nick enlists the help of his ex-best friend, Chet (Aziz Ansari). As the clock ticks, the two must deal with the police, hired assassins, flamethrowers, and their own tumultuous relationship. — (C) Sony

Scott’s Take

I think 30 minutes has a real chance to be one of the sleeper hits of the summer. It’s based on a true story and has the very popular Danny McBride and the up and coming Jessie Eisenberg. Check out the trailer and tell me you aren’t intrigued.

Steve’s Take

I have to admit that I am pretty excited to see this movie. I think that the mix of the cast is going to work very well. Maybe I can sneak in this one when my wife goes in to see The Help. Do you think she will notice??

That’s all for this week. As you can see, studios are dumping their last minute duds and hoping to find a cash cow. Next week we have the unnecessary Conan the Barbarian. I have an idea, let’s remake a bad Arnold movie. What’s next Red Sonja? We also have another remake of a better 80’s film in Fright Night starring Colin Farrell. Don’t worry ladies, we have more than muscles and gore coming your way. One Day starring Anne Hathaway and her fake accent hits theaters. Grab your man and a box of Kleenex. Have a great week.

 

Comment away!

 
