RSS

Steve’s NBA Finals Preview

30 May

by Steve Farace

It seems like it was just yesterday when I was watching “The Decision” along with millions of others, hanging on every word that LeBron James was saying. I had heard from the media for two years that LeBron would be a Knick. I heard that LeBron was going to be the “King of New York” and the “Savior of the Franchise”. Isn’t that where it all really began? Isn’t this the fault of the media? Everyone thought that LeBron would want to be the focal point of a franchise that was in desperate need of revitalization. When LeBron uttered those famous words: “I’m taking my talents to South Beach”, it was all gone. Just like that. Years of getting ready for LeBron to be a Knick vanished into thin air. LeBron had decided to join Wade and Bosh in Miami.

 

The Heat started out slow and America LOVED it. Everyone outside of Miami was hoping that would continue but it just didn’t. The Heat have been a dominant force since that 9-8 start and really have not looked back. Wade has faltered at times during the playoffs, but LeBron has not. He has closed out games on his own and he has helped guide this Miami Heat team to the Finals.

 

Well, enough of the history lesson and on to what is going to happen in the Finals. I have struck out twice on my predictions. I predicted the Bulls and Thunder in the Finals and neither one of them came through. It’s a good thing I am not a betting man. So I have thought long and hard about this upcoming series between the Mavs and Heat. Coming into the playoffs I thought that the Mavs would do the typical thing and fold in the second round. I was wrong again – maybe this isn’t the profession for me after all. They have surprised many and have dominated their way to the Finals. The Heat have been questioned every step of the way by a lot of the people in the media, as well as myself. First they couldn’t beat the Celtics because the Celtics were too good. Then they couldn’t beat the Bulls because they were the “young Celtics”. Wrong, wrong and WRONG.

 

This is it. This is what every team works so hard for. Will LeBron finally get his ring? Will Dirk finally get his ring? The Mavs do not have the defense that the Bulls do and the Heat can exploit that in many ways. The Mavs have a man that is clearly unstoppable in Dirk. If the Heat think that they can fall asleep at times like they did with the Bulls, they are sadly mistaken and will be blown away by the Mavs and Dirk will get his ring. I just don’t see it happening though. I’ve been called a “hater” since the Heat got LeBron and formed the big 3. Maybe there is a little bit of hate in me, but I just don’t think that there is a team out there that can beat the Heat 4 out of 7 right now. I won’t be surprised if either team wins; this is going to be an outstanding series to watch.

 

It absolutely pains me to say this – Heat in 7.

 
 

Comment away!

 
